Vera Tse, Jeweler

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I meet Vera at Traif (229 South 4th Street  Brooklyn), http://traifny.com/, the place is pretty but the menu is even better..so original and tempting that we would like to taste everything!

I suddenly feel immediately at ease with Vera. She’s foodie like me and we start talking about our passion for good food. She’s brilliant.

She was born in Hong Kong but she moved soon with her family in Toronto.

Vera was accepted to study at the Claude Watson School for the Arts program since she was 10 years old.

She then applied for the faculty of Architecture at the University of Toronto, but she realized soon that making and design jewelry was her real passion.

Vera is  now working as an architect in Brooklyn but  she spends all her free time in her studio in Greenpoint (that she shares with other artists) creating jewels.Each single piece is authentic, made of silver, pyrite, precious stones, inspired by architectural shapes.

“My passions are to make body art for people in the form of jewelry so that everyone can find their peace in a miniature world inspired by architecture and space to travel around the globe”

What is your passion beyond creating jewels?

I love to dance as a release of my creative spirit in different genres from modern, free styling, Brazilian samba, and jazz funk to ballet as the movement in dance inspires the shapes of my jewelry and sculptures.

Is there something that help you to work better on your creations?

While I work on my jewelry, I enjoy listening to either classical music such as Bach, Prokofiev, Debussy as well as electronic music such as Dubstep, Drum ‘n’ Bass and House as the all have similar rhythmic beats that work with my jewelry

Your favorite food?

the Shanghai cuisine dumpling delicacy Xiao Long Bao and Crème brûlée for dessert as I love savory and sweet!!

Define you in three words
Versatile, Progressive, culture vulture

Your idols
Peter de Wit, Richard Serra, Eva Hesse

The craziest thing you’ve ever made?

I think that the next thing I make should always be crazier than anything I have ever made before!

Your best creation

Pyrite rings as they really engage the wearer/ viewer in a trance. For the moment that’s it:),

In quoting Grayson Perry the Artist/ Ceramicist:  “One of the great empowering things about learning craft is… it’s almost like a manifestation, a physical manifestation of, “I can change the world.”
Website : www.veratse.com
Speaking of brunch we had:  egg-in-a-nest, brie-roast portabello panini, truffle cream –  wild smoked salmon, soft scrambled eggs, beefsteak tomatoes, cucumber – and other delicious small dishes..everything’s really tasty and fresh, recipes are uniques, really not to miss!

Leave a comment